Plomin Family Bragablog

June 14, 2009

New New York Digs

Filed under: Uncategorized — mplomin @ 4:00 am

After much eager anticipation, this afternoon I arrived in New York. It’s just as big as I remember, and this time I’m living right in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Jillian did a great job of tolerating my driving and made it back to the kids safe and sound in record time. I think when she and the kids come to visit, they’ll take the safer and less traffic-y Amtrak but Jill will have to decide that.

Aside from missing my kids, my wife, and my posh DC apartment, all’s well.  Work starts on Monday, so I’ve got tomorrow to explore NYC and get my bearings on the neighborhood.  I’m going to mass at St. Patrick’s in the morning and then I may meet up with some other NYC-area GW MBA’s for lunch.

My place in New York is a dorm room from Marymount College.  It’s actually a “suite” with a bathroom and kitchen.  There are 3 guys in 2 rooms; I’ve met one of my roommates, but not the one I’m sharing my room with.  The rules here are the standard soul-crushing dorm fare: No candles, no halogen lamps, sign in visitors, etc.  And as much as I could use a cigar and a Cragganmore on the rocks tonight, there’s no smoking and NO ALCOHOL.

Oddly enough, the view from this tiny dorm room is breathtaking, especially at night.  You can download the full-resolution photos from my Mobile Me gallery at http://gallery.me.com/mplomin/100005.

Here are a few pics of my new place:

Yup, it's a dorm room.

Yup, it's a dorm room.

Arlington Kitchen beats New York Kitchen any day.

Arlington Kitchen beats New York Kitchen any day.

This is ACTUALLY my view.  Pretty nice, eh?

This is ACTUALLY my view. Pretty nice, eh?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

